Palette Cleanser

The moments that the routine of life gets almost tasteless. The human condition. I get tired of things quickly… Even the things I know are good for me. Especially the middle and in between.

The parts of life that I get going on cruise control or am looking for a break. I want to avoid the tough, the rough, the challenging.

I hadn’t taken my kids to the library for a while. With the holidays and all the searches for missing books we decided some breathing room for a few weeks would do. When I brought them for their first trip back, I made sure to put a cap on the books we would take out. The normal 20 or 30 was capped at 6, 3 per kid. I put my son over by the early reader books and went to help my daughter pick some books as to keep the librarian from putting away a large pile of rejected literature.

20140104-213422.jpg

I caught sight of this book. I had heard of it, couldn’t remember how or when, but recalled it from somewhere in my childhood and grabbed it for my daughter’s pile. A book about running away from the scary things in life…or facing them.

Those in between moments. Those moments where I tend to bow out, take a breather, or think it’s just time to move on. Even at the end of books I read to my kids, I say “the end” and close those last few blank pages. When we sat down to read this particular book, I flipped past the last words.

20140104-212001.jpg

I was silenced. My children waited in the thick of it, wondering, hoping for more words. But I continued to stare at the page. I was 12 again sitting in Spanish class, watching the horror unfold on the TV screen and hearing the President’s helicopter thunder overhead. At 12 wondering how September 12, 2001 would happen. Wondering how all the next days would happen. Yet the thought in this book 24 hours after the horror…was life.

To live.
To walk.
To breathe.
In absolute certainty, move forward.

The beauty of living a life with Jesus, is this certainty that no matter my feeling in the moment, the promise of never walking alone is always fulfilled. The beauty in the horror of life, is I can move forward in absolute certainty that this step is not the end, no matter my fate.

The challenge before me becomes a mere palette cleanser to taste and see the grace and the goodness that my Creator has set before me. A reminder in love. A reminder that His love has set it all out before me. A reminder that He will pen every letter to the very end.

One thought on “Palette Cleanser

  1. Psalm 139:13-17: “For You created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!” OUTSTANDING!

Leave a Reply

